Answering services charge in three ways: monthly bundles of minutes with overage, a small base fee plus a per-minute rate, or bundles of calls with a per-call overage. On vendors’ own pricing pages checked October 13, 2026, 200-minute bundles cost $349 to $720 a month, and per-call plans started at $300 for 30 calls.
This guide lays out those models with published prices from nine providers, shows the cost per minute each plan really works out to, prices one hypothetical month on every plan, and lists the fees that don’t make the headline. For AI receptionist pricing models, read the AI receptionist cost guide; this page covers human answering services.
How do answering services charge?
Most answering services sell a monthly bundle of operator minutes and charge an overage rate for each minute past it. Some offer pay as you go, a low base fee plus a per-minute rate. A few bill per call instead of per minute, which suits longer calls.
| Pricing model | What you pay | Easiest to predict when | Watch for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minute bundle | A monthly fee for included minutes, then overage per minute | Volume is steady month to month | Unused minutes, overage rates, billing increments |
| Pay as you go | A small base fee plus every minute used | Volume is low or irregular | A higher per-minute rate |
| Call bundle | A monthly fee for included calls, then overage per call | Calls are long or vary a lot | Whether spam and hang-ups count |
Two details change the real price more than the headline: how time is counted, and what happens past the bundle. A service that bills by the second charges a 20-second hang-up as 20 seconds; one that rounds up charges it as a minute.
What do answering services cost? Published prices compared
Here are the published plans as listed on each vendor’s pricing page on October 13, 2026. Prices change often, so check the linked page before you compare. Overage is listed where the page states it.
Minute bundles
| Provider | Entry bundle | 200 minutes | 500 minutes | Overage per minute |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PATLive | $99 for 50 | $349 | $759 | $2.29 down to $1.49 by plan |
| Specialty Answering Service | $159 for 100 | $269 for 220 | $649 | $1.44 down to $1.09 by plan |
| MAP Communications | $179 for 125 | $339 for 250 | $649 | $1.30 to $1.28 |
| Posh | $130 for 50 | $420 | $975 | $2.20 down to $1.90 by plan |
| Abby Connect | $165 for 50 | $599 | $1,380 | Billed at the plan’s minute rate |
| Ruby | $250 for 50 | $720 | $1,725 | Not stated on the page |
| Davinci Virtual | $129 for 50 | Not offered as a listed plan | Not offered as a listed plan | Not stated on the page |
Pay as you go
| Provider | Base fee per month | Per minute |
|---|---|---|
| AnswerFirst | $30 | $1.60 to $1.95, falling with volume |
| Specialty Answering Service | $44 (Economy) | $1.54 |
| MAP Communications | $49 | $1.37 |
| PATLive | $49 | $2.99 |
| Posh | $65 | $2.30 |
Call bundles
| Provider | Plans | Overage per call |
|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai live receptionists | $300 for 30 calls, $810 for 90, $2,100 for 300 | $11.50, $10.50, and $8.50 |
Davinci lists Premium plans at $249 for 50 minutes and $319 for 100 minutes alongside its Business plans. Abby Connect states that AI answering uses half an Abby Minute per minute, so the same plan covers twice as much AI time as human time.
What does each plan cost per minute?
Divide the plan price by its included minutes to get the effective rate. On the plans above, effective rates run from about $1.30 per minute on 500-minute plans to $5.00 per minute on the smallest bundle. Bigger bundles cost less per minute, but only if you use the minutes.
| Plan | Effective rate per included minute |
|---|---|
| Specialty Answering Service, 500 minutes | $1.30 |
| MAP Communications, 500 minutes | $1.30 |
| MAP Communications, 125 minutes | $1.43 |
| PATLive, 500 minutes | $1.52 |
| Specialty Answering Service, 100 minutes | $1.59 |
| PATLive, 200 minutes | $1.75 |
| Posh, 500 minutes | $1.95 |
| Davinci Virtual, Business 50 | $2.58 |
| Posh, 50 minutes | $2.60 |
| Abby Connect, 500 minutes | $2.76 |
| Abby Connect, 50 minutes | $3.30 |
| Ruby, 500 minutes | $3.45 |
| Ruby, 50 minutes | $5.00 |
For per-call plans, the same division gives a cost per call: Smith.ai works out to $10 per call on the 30-call plan, $9 on the 90-call plan, and $7 on the 300-call plan.
These rates measure price, not service. Providers on the right side of the table often do more on each call, such as booking, transfers, or detailed intake, so compare scope as well as rate. The virtual receptionist vs answering service guide explains the difference.
What would one month cost on each plan?
Take a hypothetical month: 200 calls averaging 2.5 minutes each, or 500 minutes of operator time. Priced on each provider’s published plan that fits, the month ranges from $649 to $1,965. Your own call count and length will change the order, so redo this with your numbers.
| Provider and plan | How the month is priced | Monthly cost |
|---|---|---|
| Specialty Answering Service, 500 minutes | Fits the bundle | $649 |
| MAP Communications, Premium | Fits the 500-minute bundle | $649 |
| PATLive, 500 minutes | Fits the bundle | $759 |
| AnswerFirst, pay as you go | $30 plus 500 minutes at $1.60 to $1.95 | $830 to $1,005 |
| Posh, Lavish | Fits the 500-minute bundle | $975 |
| Abby Connect, Growth | Fits the 500-minute bundle | $1,380 |
| Ruby, 500 minutes | Fits the bundle | $1,725 |
| Smith.ai, Basic | 90 calls included, then 110 calls at $10.50 | $1,965 |
The table assumes every second is billable and nothing else is added. In practice, billing increments, wrap-up time, add-ons, and taxes move the total, which is why the next sections matter.
What about a low-volume month?
At low volume, pay as you go usually wins. For 30 minutes of operator time in a month, the published pay-as-you-go rates work out to about $78 to $89 at AnswerFirst, $90 at MAP Communications or Specialty Answering Service, $134 at Posh, and $139 at PATLive.
Is per-call or per-minute pricing cheaper?
Divide the per-call price by the per-minute price. The result is the call length at which the two cost the same. At $7 per call against $1.30 per minute, the break-even is about 5.4 minutes, so per-call pricing wins only when your calls average longer than that.
- Short calls favor per-minute plans, especially those billed by the second. Message-taking calls are usually short.
- Long calls favor per-call plans. Detailed intake, troubleshooting, or legal and medical screening calls can run long.
- Spam matters more under per-call pricing unless the provider excludes it. Smith.ai states that wrong numbers and spam calls aren’t charged when the forwarded line passes caller ID.
Check your phone provider’s call log for the average call length before you choose. It is the single number that decides the comparison.
What fees don’t show up in the headline price?
Look past the plan price at seven things: how time is counted, overage, add-ons, setup or customization, taxes and fees, nights and holidays, and contract terms. Here is what the pages checked on October 13, 2026 say about each.
- How time is counted: Specialty Answering Service and AnswerFirst state one-second billing. PATLive says you pay only for time receptionists are live on calls, with after-call notes and wrap-up not billed. Other pages don’t state increments, so ask.
- Overage: where listed, overage ran from $1.28 per minute at MAP Communications to $2.99 at PATLive’s pay-as-you-go tier. A busy month on a small bundle can cost more than the next bundle up.
- Add-ons: Specialty Answering Service lists sub accounts at $10 per month, its own IVR at $0.15 per minute, voicemail at $0.15 per minute, and patching at $0.10 per minute. Smith.ai lists appointment booking at $1.50 per call, a dedicated Spanish line at $1.00 per call, and each additional CRM at $0.50 per call. AnswerFirst charges $3 per month for each additional forwarding number.
- Setup and customization: Specialty Answering Service lists a $0 setup fee and Abby Connect lists no setup fee. AnswerFirst says a one-time customization charge may apply for complex needs.
- Taxes and fees: PATLive states that government taxes and fees are added to plan prices.
- Nights, weekends, and holidays: PATLive and AnswerFirst state no extra fees for nights, weekends, or holidays, and Ruby lists coverage on weekends and holidays on its receptionist plans.
- Contracts: most pages state month-to-month terms or no long-term contract. Smith.ai lists a 10% discount for a 12-month subscription.
What should you ask before you sign?
Ask every provider the same questions in writing. The answers turn a headline price into a comparable monthly cost.
- What is billable? Talk time only, or hold, wrap-up, and transfers too? What are the billing increments?
- Do spam calls, wrong numbers, and hang-ups count?
- What happens past my bundle? The exact overage rate, and whether my plan changes automatically.
- Which tasks cost extra? Booking, transfers, patching, Spanish, CRM entry, or message delivery by text.
- What are the one-time fees? Setup, scripting, and changes to call instructions later.
- What taxes and fees are added?
- What is the notice period to cancel or change plans?
How does an AI receptionist compare on price?
An AI receptionist bills differently: a monthly plan with usage, rather than operator minutes. InsertChat plans start at $98 per month with one phone number and 5,000 monthly credits, shared by calls and written conversations. Calls round up to whole minutes per call, with a one-minute minimum.
The bigger difference is what the money buys. An answering service buys people on the line, which matters for emotional calls and live transfers. InsertChat’s AI receptionist answers from your knowledge at any hour you route to it, books within your calendar rules, and records a transcript and summary of every call, but it doesn’t transfer live calls. Many businesses use both: the AI for routine and after-hours calls and a service or on-call line for emergencies. The AI receptionist vs answering service guide explains how to split calls between them.
To compare costs on your own volume, use the usage estimator and the channel costs summary on the pricing page. The alternatives pages compare InsertChat with Ruby and Smith.ai using dated sources.
Compare on your own calls
Pull last month’s call log, note the number of calls and the average length, and price that month on two or three plans above. Then explore the InsertChat demo or start your free trial and route only after-hours calls to the AI to compare a real month side by side.